The one that escaped…

Headphones on her ears..connected to an ipod…she was sitting across me.
Her eyes closed, it looked like she was asleep.
She was smiling, apparently listening to her favorite song.
Silent…Simple..sweet…smile.
A smile…that I imagined to traverse through her (closed) eyes to her heart and extend to her soul.
I was almost beginning to envy the clarity and quiet in her face, when the anti curve set in.
A small geometrical change to the perfectly placed upward curve…..and then there were more muscles turning than just her lips.
Shaking brows…she swallowed much more than just tears with that lump in her throat.
She tried to conceal the shaking lips…bit them…stretched them…she was apparently ashamed of the public outburst that had just begun inside her.
I would never know what disturbed her.
But it was something that robbed a serene smile.
Something that …made eye brows come together…made fingers clutch the ipod tight…
And then a deep sigh…she breathed out and there was peace again on her face.
Slowly she opened her eyes…filled with tears…and blur.
I wished she dint close them…if she did…the brimming pot would spill over…she just batted her eyelids.
And the one that escaped….gave her away…gave her away to the entire world…the entire world she didn’t care about…
She never wiped it… She closed her eyes again…Peace Reigned.

About naarya

Software Engineer in exile. Pastry chef in the making. Chennai girl. Chocolate lover. Clumsy. Sometimes funny. Mostly just silly. Foodie. Lazy. Binary. Bathroom singer. Fan of the kai Murukku. Artsy. Free. Simple. High on anything. Sleeps too much. Eco-conscious. Politically blind/deaf/dumb. Joyous. Impatient. Crazy. Fashion retard. Love to make faces. Spicy. Easy going. Not health conscious. Loves being busy. Happiieeeeeeee!!!!
This entry was posted in Stories I tell.... Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The one that escaped…

  1. Naarya says:

    I could not guage the wave that consumed her, but she made me comprehendIf the smile that redefined the way I thought about emotions was plastic, I would never trust the dichotomies of nature in this melancholy worldBut if it was, I know what causes a perfectly silent sea to explode in rage ! No more tears, my dear girl, for tears dampen the passion in youYou will always be the serene face that haunts me forever. This is what a wise friend wrote after seeing the blog.. 🙂

  2. Sushhh says:

    i so totally can see n connect to what u’v written here..!!! 🙂 🙂 great job..!! 😀

  3. intense stuff da. love the usage of words! go brandy 🙂

  4. Shree says:

    I could see that gal myself and very much relate…..gud work with the words….!

  5. True Love... says:

    Hat’s off brinda!!!At the moment when i went thru ur words, i realised the feel that you had felt when you saw her…By the way, who is she??

  6. Naarya says:

    @ pradeep: thnx da…tht girl….Some stranger… 🙂

  7. Aarthi says:

    Beautifully written! Brindz, you have an eye for noticing the unusual in mundane things.

  8. Naarya says:

    @ shree, my3 and aarthi: Thnk u! 🙂

Leave a comment